Steve Jobs: Inspiration

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Dont’ be trapped by dogma—which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice.” – Steve Jobs

Let this be my personal tribute to Steve Jobs, founder of Apple and Pixar. I admired this man for his willingness to be daring and different than everyone else. He had drive. He thought outside of the box. He was innovative and inspired people everywhere to dream on the devices that he dreamed about. I’ve heard him compared to Dr. Alfred Lanning (from I, Robot), Tony Stark, and the Thomas Edison of our time.  Mr. Jobs definitely set the stage and also he changed the game and how we run our lives forever.

“Once in a rare while, somebody comes along who doesn’t just raise the bar, they create an entirely new standard of  measurement.” – Twitter CEO Dick Costolo

After Mr. Jobs death yesterday (which was ironically a day after the announcement of the release of the iPhone 4s), I reflected on the global impact that he had on technology. One man changed our world. He was given up for adoption and never finished college, but he still changed our world. There is no excuse for anyone. I know there is no excuse for me. I started to brainstorm on what he did that set him apart. Yes he was a genius! Yes he had a specific calling on his life. We all do too. Everyone is meant to impact the Earth in some way before we leave. We were not created to be idle. Everyone may not be the founder and CEO of a ground-breaking company, be we all can have a strong impact in our own communities.  There are 3 statements of Steve Jobs that stick out to me that I will hang up on the wall of my office and keep in my planner.

  1. Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.
  2. The only way to do great work is to love what you do…So keep looking, don’t settle
  3. Stay hungry, stay foolish
Thank you Steve Jobs for your inspiring story and thanks for showing us how life can be lived.

 
“The world has lost a visionary. And there may be no greater tribute to Steve’s success than the fact that much of the world learned of his passing on a device he invented.” – President Barack Obama
 

Steve JOBS 1955-2011

Image by COG LOG LAB. via Flickr

Leave a comment